Article Index

The full-time residential program at Nalanda Monastery consists of seven years of study and a total of twelve months retreat. Quizzes every second week, written exams every three months, review classes, meditations and discussions support the daily teachings.

Criteria for certification include academic, meditation, behaviour and service components, as well as a minimum attendance in the various aspects of the program.

There are five main components:

Academic Component
daily teachings and tutorials, in-class quizzes and exams, a three-month period of review of the entire studies at the end of the whole program, and a final exam.

The Meditation Component
daily meditations as well as retreats

The Attitude and Behaviour Component
daily self-evaluation, fulfilment of the patience requirement and standard of ethical conduct

The Service Component
contribution of a minimum of five hours per week in the form of various assigned tasks that benefit the Monastery, the community and the program.

The Training Component
Leading discussions and meditations, giving presentations, preparing course materials and discussions, participation in FPMT trainings, etc.

FaLang translation system by Faboba